Economics is one of the six departments in the School of Business.

Our teaching is based on both theoretical and application perspectives to provide our students with a broad understanding of the study of Economics in a rapidly changing world.

Our research strengths are in the areas of :-

  • Development Economics in East Asia
  • Export Demand
  • Industrialisation
  • International Trade Finance
  • Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Integration
  • Productivity and Technical Change
Grace Lee, Assoc Prof
Discipline Head,
Economics
Discipline Head Grace Lee Hooi Yean, Assoc Prof
B.A, Economics; M.A, Economics (MUN); PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: grace.lee@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 44907 (DID: 5514 4907)
Coordinator Audrey Siah Kim Lan (Audrey), Dr
B.A, Economics (Hons), M.A. Economics, PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: audrey.siah@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 45690 (DID: 5514 5690)
Adjunct Gareth David Leeves, Assoc Prof
B.Sc (Econ) (Hons) (Leicester, UK), M.Sc (Bath, UK), PhD (UNSW, Australia), Cert ED (HE) (Leicester, UK)
E-mail: gareth.leeves@monash.edu
  Eduard J. Bomhoff, Prof
BSc. Mathematics (Leyden), MSc (Leyden), PhD (cum laude) (NSE)
Email: eduard.bomhoff@monash.edu
Phone Extension: (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 45601 (DID: 5514 5601)
  Gamini Herath, Prof
B.Sc (Ceylon), M.Ag Dev Ec. (ANU,Canberra), Ph.D ( New England), GCHE (Deakin)
E-mail: gamini.herath@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 55146000 ext: 46282 (DID : +603 5514 6282)
  Poon Wai Ching, Assoc Prof
B.A, Education (Hons) (USM), M.Ec (UM), PhD, Economics (UPM)
Email: poon.wai.ching@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 44908 (DID: 5514 4908)
  Luc Borrowman, Dr
BComm(Hons) (Monash), PhD (Monash)
Email: luc.borrrowman@monash.edu
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 59627 (DID: 5515 9627)
  Shahriar Kabir, Dr
BSc Engg., EEE (IUT); MBA, Finance (Webster University); PhD, Economics (Curtin University)
Email: shahriar.kabir@buseco.monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 46172 (DID: 5514 6172)
  Ashutosh Sarker, Dr
M.Ag Ec. (Niigata University); PhD, Ag Ec. (Niigata University)
Email: ashutosh.sarker@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 46277 (DID: 5514 6277)
  Koh Geok May (Sharon), Ms
BEcons (UM); M. Business (Charles Sturt); PhD (Monash)
Email: koh.geokmay@monash.edu.my
Phone Extension (+603) 5514 6000 Ext: 44988 (DID: 5514 4988)